On January 21, 2004, the feast of St. Agnes, virgin and martyr, the Pontifical Council for the Laity approved the International Confederation of the Apostolate of the Suffering (CVS).  Blessed Luigi Novarese, Founder of the Apostolate of the Suffering (CVS) in 1947, saw the need for the diffusion of the Apostolate throughout the world and this became a primary objective in all of his activities.


Blessed  Novarese evidenced the importance of uniting a person’s suffering with that of Christ’s giving salvation, hope and dignity to each individual.  The primary aim of the International  Confederation is to create a “World Union of the Sick” following this charisma that Blessed Novarese foresaw.






The first International General Assembly of the Confederation took place from September 15-25, 2005, in Rome, Italy.  The International Board of Directors was chosen then to approve, to oversee and to co-ordinate  the individual diocesan groups.




The Confederation is composed of:


The International Confederation is composed of:

  • Silent Workers of the Cross (SODC) (guide and aid)
  • Apostolate of the Suffering (CVS) Diocesan groups (approved by their Bishops and the International Board of Directors)


(Groups working in parallel with the Confederation having the same goals and charisma can become members following the Confederation guidelines for adhesion.)


The International Confederation has an International Board of Directors elected by the International General Assembly.  The President of the Confederation is the Assistant for the Apostolate of the Silent Workers of the Cross.


For further information:





[google-map-v3 shortcodeid=”a7c2fa4855″ width=”100%” height=”350″ zoom=”13″ maptype=”roadmap” mapalign=”center” directionhint=”false” language=”default” poweredby=”false” maptypecontrol=”true” pancontrol=”true” zoomcontrol=”true” scalecontrol=”true” streetviewcontrol=”true” scrollwheelcontrol=”false” draggable=”true” tiltfourtyfive=”false” enablegeolocationmarker=”false” enablemarkerclustering=”false” addmarkermashup=”false” addmarkermashupbubble=”false” addmarkerlist=”Via di Monte del Gallo 105 – 111, 00165 Roma (RM) – Italia{}home.png{}Direzione Generale SOdC” bubbleautopan=”true” distanceunits=”km” showbike=”false” showtraffic=”false” showpanoramio=”false”]



  • Italia
  • Portogallo
  • Polonia
  • Colombia
  • Camerun
  • USA
  • Ungheria